Page 1 of 2

FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 2:16 pm
by gotmilk0112
It seems like half the time, my FD Trap macro doesn't work at all. I mash the hell out of it and FD, but trap doesn't get used.

Code: Select all
/script if UnitAffectingCombat("player") then CastSpellByName("Feign Death");else CastSpellByName("Freezing Trap");end

Re: FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 9:14 pm
by Fey
Hi! I have a working macro (which must be struck twice if in combat, but saves you from hitting two keybinds) on my Hunter Macros & Tips thread!

5.3 - FREEZING TRAP
The Freezing Trap can be broken by your pet too, so I went ahead and did this to mine:

/cast Freezing Trap
/script if UnitAffectingCombat("player") then CastSpellByName("Feign Death") end
/script if UnitExists("pettarget") and UnitIsUnit("target", "pettarget") then PetPassiveMode(); else end

It adds the Feign Death macro and the line from the Scatter Shot macro which pulls your pet back to you if you're targeting the same thing to a single macro. Note that you don't have to change targets to entrap someone in a freezing trap, but I tend to target whatever's escaped just in case, so feel free to take that line out entirely if you don't plan on changing targets.


If you want to create identical macros for the other traps, just remove the last line and your pet will not stop attacking if your target and their target are the same, and then change the first line to the name of the trap you want.

Here's a link to the thread: viewtopic.php?f=38&t=21017

Happy hunting!

Re: FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:53 pm
by gotmilk0112
Yeah, I have a macro similar to that.

Code: Select all
/script if UnitAffectingCombat("player") then CastSpellByName("Feign Death"); PetFollow(); PetPassiveMode();else CastSpellByName("Freezing Trap");end


And I have the macro in my first post, which just FD and traps, doesn't change pet status.

It works only half the time, though. I've had so many deaths happen because of my trap macro not working. It properly casts FD, but does not cast trap, even when I'm spamming the macro. I don't know what's going on.

I can only assume it's something putting me back in combat right after I FD. Do pet attacks put you in combat?

Re: FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:30 pm
by Cruzix
gotmilk0112 wrote:Do pet attacks put you in combat?


Yes

Re: FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:47 pm
by Fey
gotmilk0112 wrote:Yeah, I have a macro similar to that.

Code: Select all
/script if UnitAffectingCombat("player") then CastSpellByName("Feign Death"); PetFollow(); PetPassiveMode();else CastSpellByName("Freezing Trap");end


And I have the macro in my first post, which just FD and traps, doesn't change pet status.

It works only half the time, though. I've had so many deaths happen because of my trap macro not working. It properly casts FD, but does not cast trap, even when I'm spamming the macro. I don't know what's going on.

I can only assume it's something putting me back in combat right after I FD. Do pet attacks put you in combat?


Oh, yes. You need to be very quick, or just pull your pet back or something when you lay a trap down.

Re: FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:53 pm
by gotmilk0112
Well, that would explain it.

Re: FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:38 pm
by gotmilk0112
Uh...it's still not working. Even when I'm mashing the macro, I can't get trap to go off when I'm in combat.

Mashing the macro as fast as I can, and I still can't get a trap off. It FD's just fine, but no trap.

Died to a rogue twice because trap failed, and strangely, I trapped a warrior and he immediately broke out of it somehow. Pet was on passive, no DoTs on him, yet the trap wore off in under a second.

Kinda makes me realize why people say hunter sucks in PvP...if your trap macro fails, you're fucked, gg enjoy the corpse run.

Re: FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 3:44 pm
by Kazarak
Your opponent may be Johnny-on-the-spot and reacquiring you too quickly. FD will not prevent a PvP opponent from re-targeting you and attacking. I'm not 30 with my Hunter yet, so I can't personally validate, but I assume both FD and traps use the global cool down...? If so, that is a 1 second window of opportunity for your PvP opponent to reacquire you as a target and prevent your trap.

I assume you have your pet going into passive mode? If your pet is still attacking, you will not leave combat.

Does the macro work in PvE?

Re: FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 6:41 pm
by gotmilk0112
Traps seem to be off the GCD, because when I mash the macro, the trap appears before the death animation ends.

Rather, FD seems to not trigger a GCD.

I've successfully done it in both PvE and PvP. It's just that in PvP, it seems to fail more often than not.

Re: FD Trap macro not working?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 6:58 pm
by Kazarak
Then I'm out of suggestions...