Page 1 of 1

/castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2015 9:43 pm
by Panicstate
I noticed that in vanilla, the /castsequence command is not a thing yet. Is there any way to create a macro that does the same thing that castsequence did/does on live servers?

To provide a little context about how I want to use it; my paladin has both Herbalism and Mining, and I want to use a macro to swap between Find Herbs and Find Minerals with a single key so that I can easily switch them as I run around.

Really hoping there's a way to do this! Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out!

Re: /castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:12 am
by Granulat
/run if n~= 1 then CastSpellByName("Herbalism") n=1 else CastSpellByName("Mining") n=0 end


This would work. Altho I don't know if they are spells or how the ability is spelled, u will have to change Herbalism and Mining. It's named like "track minerals" or something , right?

Re: /castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:02 am
by Panicstate
Granulat wrote:/run if n~= 1 then CastSpellByName("Herbalism") n=1 else CastSpellByName("Mining") n=0 end


This would work. Altho I don't know if they are spells or how the ability is spelled, u will have to change Herbalism and Mining. It's named like "track minerals" or something , right?



Yay, that works perfectly! Yep, it's Find Herbs and Find Minerals. Thanks a ton for your help, I never would have figured out how to code that on my own. :D

Re: /castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:11 am
by bob44
Yes, it works perfectly. Thank you.

Now, does anyone know how to elevate this to the next level?

I have seen some macros that you can click once before you start your farming. It will switch automatically between tracking herbalism and minerals every 2 seconds (or whatever you set the timer to switch back and forth). Then, when you are done farming, click the macro again and it turns off.

I have tried a few that I've found, but none work on Nostalrius.

Thanks in advance!

Re: /castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:33 pm
by Dreez
bob44 wrote:Yes, it works perfectly. Thank you.

Now, does anyone know how to elevate this to the next level?

I have seen some macros that you can click once before you start your farming. It will switch automatically between tracking herbalism and minerals every 2 seconds (or whatever you set the timer to switch back and forth). Then, when you are done farming, click the macro again and it turns off.

I have tried a few that I've found, but none work on Nostalrius.

Thanks in advance!

that'd be considered botting but yes it's possible through addons

Re: /castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:45 pm
by LYQ
bob44 wrote:Yes, it works perfectly. Thank you.

Now, does anyone know how to elevate this to the next level?

I have seen some macros that you can click once before you start your farming. It will switch automatically between tracking herbalism and minerals every 2 seconds (or whatever you set the timer to switch back and forth). Then, when you are done farming, click the macro again and it turns off.

I have tried a few that I've found, but none work on Nostalrius.

Thanks in advance!


You will not find a working version, you would've to use function CastSpellByName in an OnUpdate script, CastSpellByName however needs a keypress to work so you can't possibly do such a script.

Like the user above said you would need some kind of botting, something external doing the switch for you. A macro or AddOn is in vanilla not powerful enough since it would've to use the named function.

In TBC or later expansions such thing would be possible since you don't have to use CastSpellByName because Blizzard introduced a seperate function to handle the Tracking Mode and this seperate function does not need a keypress and therefore can be used inside an OnUpdate script.

Re: /castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 11:59 am
by Timmahh85
I guess you could add it into your movement buttons like wasd, so you switch when you click a directional button, but then you'd have to expand your macro to include movement.

Re: /castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 1:46 pm
by Dreez
Timmahh85 wrote:I guess you could add it into your movement buttons like wasd, so you switch when you click a directional button, but then you'd have to expand your macro to include movement.

movement can't be included in macros at all

Re: /castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:38 pm
by cyklon
i use this

/script if not UnitAffectingCombat("player") and buffed("Find Herbs", 'player') then CastSpellByName("Find Minerals") else CastSpellByName("Find Herbs") end;

Re: /castsequence macro?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:46 pm
by Dreez
cyklon wrote:i use this

/script if not UnitAffectingCombat("player") and buffed("Find Herbs", 'player') then CastSpellByName("Find Minerals") else CastSpellByName("Find Herbs") end;

buffed is a supermacro function that can't be used without supermacro (just saying)