Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by Cromecast » Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:03 pm

We all know the client forget all sorts of special channels upon relogs.
I presume a:
/leave world
/join world
macro will deal with that however it auomatically attribute it to the General chat window.

Is it possible and if so do anyone know how it can be possible to make a script (that in my case attribute it to my LFG window and not General)?

Same goes with raiding where I'm as a hunter am supposed to be in the ranged channel which obviously also gets "forgotten" upon relog/logging out.
Cromecast
Grunt
Grunt
 

Re: Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by crimsonsage » Thu Mar 10, 2016 4:29 pm

bump. Have the same issue. Would love to see what others have done about this.
crimsonsage
Sergeant
Sergeant
 

Re: Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by Lebroski » Thu Mar 10, 2016 5:40 pm

I've been having this issue for several weeks now and what I have done to counter the issue is leave/join with the following toggle macro's:


Trade Chat Toggle
Code: Select all
/script x=GetChannelName('Trade - City');if(x == 0) then JoinChannelByName('Trade') ChatFrame_AddChannel(DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME, 'Trade') else LeaveChannelByName('Trade - City') end


World Chat Toggle
Code: Select all
/script x=GetChannelName('World');if(x == 0) then JoinChannelByName('World') ChatFrame_AddChannel(DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME, 'World') else LeaveChannelByName('World') end
Lebroski
Private
Private
 

Re: Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by Gemt » Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:58 pm

Made two simple addons that joins world automatically after entering world on a character.

If you previously had to leave world (or any other channel) before re-joining it, you may have to use this one:
http://en.file-upload.net/download-1138 ... e.zip.html

If it was enough to just join world, without first leaving it, this should do the job:
http://en.file-upload.net/download-1138 ... x.zip.html

Only difference is the first one makes sure to leave world before joining it, the second one simply joins world.

If you have other channels you'd like to join automatically in the same manner, just open ChatFix.lua and add JoinChannel("channelName") calls for each channel you'd like to join. There are some simple instructions in the lua file. If you are using the Chatfix_with_leave version, make sure to add LeaveChannelByName calls as well.

If you find that world, and any other channels you may add to the lua file, become /1, /2 etc, instead of the default behaviour where general and trade are /1 and /2 respectively, try to increase the timer in the lua file. There are some instructions on how to do that in the file.

Using timers to do this feels a bit ugly, but it seems it cant just be done when the PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD event fires due to the problem mentioned above. This may be done much more elegantly, but I don't really know the wow API and this seems to do the trick.
Gemt
Grunt
Grunt
 

Re: Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by Cromecast » Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:41 pm

Cool, will test the different solutions posted tomorrow, now its raid time :)
Cromecast
Grunt
Grunt
 

Re: Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by themagoo » Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:33 am

Hi,

thanks for the macros and for those addons. I will test both.

I have an other issue. When I set the world chan on an other chat window it simply doesn't work at all anymore. I can't see anything on the world or any other channel in a different chat window than general chat window.

So I must set the world chan on the general chat window if I want use it. It's very annoying. I didn't have this bug earlier.

Thanks.

EDIT the macro isn't working for me :( I mean it make me join and leave world but not in the correct frame chat

EDIT 2 : nice addon but it doesn't allow to set the channels on a specific chat frame ? Could you add this in it ?

AddChatWindowChannel(chatFrameIndex, "channel") - Make a chat channel visible in a specific ChatFrame.

I find this on wow api wiki
themagoo
Grunt
Grunt
 

Re: Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by Gemt » Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:14 pm

I'll try it myself when I get home from work, but you could just try to swap the default_chat_frame to another number yourself and see if it works. I imagine it's just a number [0,n-1], n being the number of chat frames you have open and 0 corresponding to default_chat_frame, so just try putting in a number corresponding to the chat frame you want world to be in.
Gemt
Grunt
Grunt
 

Re: Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by themagoo » Sat Mar 12, 2016 8:35 pm

Hey ! I tried this

Code: Select all
 JoinChannel("world");
AddChatWindowChannel(4, "world");
RemoveChatWindowChannel(1, "world");
is_in_channels = true;

elseif elapsed >= 15 and not left_channels then
-- Leaves the channels specified below before re-joining them.
LeaveChannelByName("world")
left_channels = true;


and this

Code: Select all
               JoinChannel("world");
         ChatFrame_AddChannel(DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME, "world")
         ChatFrame_RemoveChannel(DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME, "General")
         is_in_channels = true;
         
      elseif elapsed >= 15 and not left_channels then
         -- Leaves the channels specified below before re-joining them.
         LeaveChannelByName("world")
         left_channels = true;


both don't work :(
themagoo
Grunt
Grunt
 

Re: Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by Renew » Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:58 pm

themagoo wrote:both don't work :(


you copied random code from some addon or what is this? xD
my Addons:
- Vanilla Healing Assignments - /viewtopic.php?f=63&t=23326
- Vanilla Storyline -
User avatar
Renew
Senior Sergeant
Senior Sergeant
 

Re: Client forgetting you have joined World channel :cry:

by themagoo » Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:01 pm

Yeah code of the Gemt's addon + scripts I found in the wow vanilla api

I'm a noob ^^
themagoo
Grunt
Grunt
 

Next

Return to Addons & macros